Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 27972

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 11/4/2013

RE: Recreation Under 11

Brid Sarazin of NAPA, CA United States asks...

My 10 year old son plays Rec soccer. Yesterday, as goalie he caught the ball in his hands on the line. The referee called it a goal. Everyone including the coaches of both teams was surprised as it really was questionable, my son was so close to the front of the goal/line and he caught it straight on.

I would love your take on the matter.

According to the FIFA website, the ball has to be over the line- not on it. In fact, one of their drawings indicates a ball on the line and they clearly state this is not a goal.

With the ref's decision final: c'est la vie but I am just curious?

Thank you.
Brid Sarazin

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brid
One of the most contentious issues in the game.
Did all of the ball cross all of the goal line for a goal to be awared?
This year in the English Premier League a new goal line technology system has been introduced. It is able to instantly tell the referee by electronic means that all of the ball has in fact fully crossed all of the goal line. If any part of the ball is touching the line or the plane of the line it is not a goal.
Have alook at it here

Unfortunately for the rest of us we will have to continue to rely on the eye to make the judgement. Any doubt which includes a poor viewing position to judge should be in favour of No Goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes, the ball must be completely across the line for a goal to be scored. I'm sure that's what the referee saw. Whether he saw it correctly or incorrectly, his opinion becomes a fact of play, and that's that.

Now if the referee admitted that the ball wasn't completely across the line but he was awarding a goal anyway, that's something entirely different. In that case, the referee is admitting that he is misapplying the Laws of the Game, and the game would be protestable (subject to any league restrictions).

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

All of the ball must cross all of the line between the posts and under the crossbar to be a goal. But, as you say, the decision of the referee is final.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27972
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.