Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 28012

Law 15 - Throw In 11/18/2013

RE: competitive

Tim of kernersville, nc usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 26074

When the ball passes entirely over the touchline, the ball is out of play and results in a throw-in. If even part of the ball is over/on the touchline, it is in play.

My question is, when there is a throw-in, is the opposite in effect? Does the ball have to pass entirely over the touchline to be in play? I had a throw-in that landed on the touchline and stayed on the line to a standstill.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tim
Once the ball touches any part of the plane of the line at the throw in it is in play. If the ball landed on the touchline then that ball is in play and it may be played. If it subsequently goes out of play the TI is taken from where the ball left the field of play again.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The touch line is part of the field of play. So, when leaving the field all of the ball has to cross over all of the line to be out of play and when entering the field, the ball only has to come in contact with or break the plane above any part of the touch line to be in play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28012
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28017

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.