Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 28035

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/27/2013

RE: Intermediate Under 12

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28033

Don't you think referee could have issued 2 yellows & a red (although he didn't)? He could have issued the first yellow for deliberate handling which broke up a tactical play (i.e. short of DOGSO). It then appears that the striker tried to get the ball (for a DFK), which the GK delayed (even if the striker overreacted). The GK could have gotten a second yellow & then a red.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
That is indeed a possibility. Provoking a confrontation by deliberately touching the ball after the referee has stopped play is a cautionable offence. However there are other factors to be considered here in this scenario which will delay the restart anyway
1. The restart is on the whistle with a card issued which makes it ceremonial given where the DFK is from and lots of players around the location of the free kick.
2. A player is on the ground injured
Interestingly Gspurning is quoted to have said
'He was coming to me wanted to grab ball, but I held the ball and defended the ball in this case, of course," Gspurning said. "I don't know what was going on there. I didn't do anything, just protected the ball, and I think that's my right."
Holding on to the ball is not his right as it is the opponents' free kick so it shows just how little players know of the Laws.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

I didn't see what happened, but generally speaking it's definitely possible to issue a 'double caution'.

Another example would be if a player commits a reckless foul, then commits blatant dissent as you're about to caution him.

Considering the purpose of a card is to warn the player to change his behaviour (ie a yellow card is trying to keep the player on the park), I think you only want to do it in situations where you're really left without an option. I'd be extremely surprised if a referee at this level ever did it, but they tend to approach games a little differently to grassroots level.

Personally, I think a red card was the correct decision anyway as it looked like it was going in the goals and I don't think the attacker was going to reach the ball at the speed it was travelling at. That being how I saw it I see no possible case for a yellow - if the ball was going to miss and the attacker wasn't going to reach the ball, then no attack has been broken up.

If your view is that the attacker may have reached the ball then there's a case for a yellow - different people saw that scenario differently.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28035
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.