Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 28065

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 12/16/2013

RE: All Levels Other

Gary Hustis of Rochester, NY USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28033

In watching the video associated with the Gsuprning handling call the announcer states that the rule reads (paraphrasing) 'That if you catch the ball in the box and carry it out it's a yellow card and if you intentionally handle the ball outside the box it's a red card'. Giving him the benefit of the doubt I suspect he is referring only to the actions of the goalkeeper (and so does the rest of my question). The way he stated it gives me the impression that he is implying that the mere act of carrying the ball out of the penalty area is a yellow and the mere act of handling outside the area is a red. Is that an MLS rule? I know of no such rule as a USSF/FIFA law. The way I see it is that something else must be going on in connection with the handing to elevate it from a simple DFK to a cardable offense.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Gary
Please do not pay any heed to announcers on these matters. The referee has to consider whether a goal scoring opportunity or goal has been denied or whether it was a tactical foul to determine if it a dismissal or a caution. There could be times when it is simply a misjudgement of location by the goalkeeper and it is a direct free kick only.
Personally I felt the Gspurning incident was a caution while other felt that it was a dismissal. It can in my opinion be argued both ways but certainly not on the basis of the comments from the announcers..

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Commentators are paid to cause controversy and discussion. Actually knowing the laws does not do this.

If you've ever actually read the laws then you know more about the laws of the game then commentators do. Feel free to ignore them whenever they start talking about laws or interpretations.

He was completely incorrect on both counts.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28065
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.