Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 28351

Law 6 - Assistant Referee 4/19/2014

RE: High School

Scott of Santa Rita, Guam USA asks...

Greetings;
As an AR, what is the proper signal to the CR when a player takes a goal kick and they did not place the ball correctly on the line? Thank you. I raised my flag straight up to get the attention of the CR and once he acknowledged my signal I pointed for a goal kick. He looked at me kind of crazy and confused but eventually got what I was indicating but still made us both not look good. Did I make the wrong call?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Scott
There is no defined signal for a procedure infringement such as this. I communicate with the goalkeeper, when I'm looking at the placement, in the same way as a referee would instruct so as to prevent it happening. If it is prevented with a shout " Goalkeeper ball inside the goal area please" it does not then need the flag.
If the flag needs to be raised I find that when it is accompanied by a shout such as 'Placement' and it is done at the moment the GK has stepped back from the ball that deals with the situation. One hopes that the CR is looking in the direction of the goal area as he can be looking elsewhere or distracted by players who are questioning the original decision etc.
I also only flag very obvious procedure infringements. Is a few inches to the side of the goal area going to make a difference.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Scott: it is rarely necessary to involve the referee. The infringement is usually a matter of inches, so a warning to the keeper will suffice. But, if you need to involve the referee, raise the flag. (Some give it a wiggle like a foul to indicate an infringement, but IMO that does not provide clear information to the referee). When the referee stops play, you'll need to explain (probably with voice) why the ball was never put into play properly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28351
Read other Q & A regarding Law 6 - Assistant Referee

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>