Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 28427

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 5/15/2014

RE: Grade 8 Under 18

Juan Ochoa of Norfolk, VA USA asks...

Keeper has the ball, he punts it and the ball goes directly into the other team's goal. No other player touched it except for the keeper that punted it. Is this a goal? What if the keeper threw the ball into the other team's goal without it being touched by any player?

Thank you for your time.

Juan Ochoa

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Juan
As the ball is in play this is a perfectly good goal. If the goalkeeper can throw the ball that far it is also a goal.
Now in many small sided, small field of play games there are unique competition rules to prevent this and to encourage play. In the regular 11 v 11 game there is no such restrictions.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

When the keeper is holding the ball (eg after making a save), the ball is still considered to be in play. As such, there are no restrictions on scoring. If he's able to throw the ball straight into the goal, then good for him!

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28427
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>