Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 28466

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 5/31/2014

RE: comp Under 11

Mark K. of Rocklin, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28354

As a follow up to this question, say this happens:

The keeper grabs the ball, the AR does not immediately raise her flag, the keeper clears the ball into the the opposing half field of play, and 1-2 touches occur. The AR raises her flag (it's not exactly clear when - but it's clearly after the keeper controlled and kicked the ball into the opposite half.)

The head ref stops play with a whistle. Has a chat with the AR, and awards a goal.

Is this correct by the head ref? I don't know if the ball originally entirely crossed the plane or not, but play had continued for a kick and a couple of touches before the ref stopped play.

Either way, it was poorly done by the AR.


Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the ball had completely crossed the goal line, then a goal should be awarded. Perhaps the AR did not put up her flag at first because she thought the ref had seen the goal. Then when she realized play was continuing (and they weren't just passing the ball back to the center circle for a kickoff), she properly signaled to get play stopped and the goal awarded.

Not the best mechanics by the AR. Normally when everyone sees the ball is in the goal, the AR signals that everything is OK by sprinting up the line toward the center. Many AR's forget the alternate signal, that if the ball rebounds immediately back into play, she should stand and raise the flag to stop play, and only then continue with the regular goal signal.

Only if the ref had stopped play for something else and then allowed a restart could they not go back to the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Poor mechanics here by the referee crew. However as a goal has been scored and play has not restarted it must be awarded. The restart is a kick off.
Now what should have happened is that once the ball crossed the goal line the AR should have raised his flag to attract the referee's attention then continued with the normal goal procedure signal of running quickly 25-30 yards along the touch line towards the halfway line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28466
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>