Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 28467

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 5/31/2014

RE: Select Under 13

Amy Hazzard of Hebron , Ky Us asks...

A player took a shot, it hit the top cross bar, fell directly down - is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

When the ball goes straight down, it is not a goal. A goal requires that all of the bar cross the goal line and the crossbar is directly over the goal line.

Of course, sometimes the ball goes down at a slight angle, and the ball does cross all of the goal line. It can be difficult to tell the difference from any distance. We will see at the next world cup if technology will make for better goal/no goal decisions.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Amy
The answer lies in whether all of the ball crossed all of the plane of the goal line.
That can be a difficult call to make at speed as we have seen situations where the ball came down at an angle crossing the line and have been missed.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Amy,

The ball needs to wholly cross the line in order to be a goal - same as it needs to wholly cross a sideline to be out. If the slightest sliver of the ball is still above the line, it's in - and you'd be very surprised at just how far 'out' a ball can look while it's actually still on the line.

If the ball bounces down from the crossbar then back out it usually won't have fully crossed the line - it would need to have a tremendous amount of spin (or perhaps hit a divot or bump) to be able to completely change direction back out of the goal. But, it definitely does happen. The vast majority of the time in these cases, the ball does not wholly cross the line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28467
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>