Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 28482

Law 15 - Throw In 6/7/2014

RE: rec Adult

alex of richmond hill, ontario canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 28472

Joe's answer might have cleared up my years of confusion regarding 'delivers the ball from behind and over his head'. My understanding to that statement is you hold the ball behind your head with both hands, then swing the ball forward and only release the ball after the ball has moved to the front. Joe's answer seems to indicate that the ball release has to be behind the head, or at most right above the head. Am I understanding this correctly?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alex
The release of the ball must happen before its gets to the front of the head. The method I believe, with its history, tries to keep players away from the thrower and prevent crowding. When the ball is dropped or increasingly as I see released in front of the head, which is more controlled, player can get much closer to the thrower. I would say that a proper release and throwing motion from behind the head means that the ball has to travel at least 5/6 yards minimum with this method. If it is released in front of the head it can be within 2/3 yards. Some "flick action" throws are border line as most of the momentum of the ball is up and then down.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Remember that a throw-in is simply a method of getting the ball back into play. If all the mechanics are not 100% perfect, does it really matter? What we don't want to see is a player taking advantage of a technique to get some advantage on the throw - longer distance, for example.

Typically the ball is released anywhere from somewhat behind the head, over the top of the head, or slightly in front of the head. Only if the player holds onto the ball so long that it ends up going almost straight downwards (a 'spike') would it have to be called as illegal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28482
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28492

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>