Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29175

Law 17 - Corner Kick 2/14/2015

RE: Adult

Adamu Isah Oluwe of Lokoja, Kogi Nigeria asks...

Good day sir.
A player takes a corner kick from the corner flag, the ball rebounds from the crossbar/goal post and he kicker kicks the ball a second time without touching another player and scored a goal. what should be the decision of the REFEREE?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Adamu,
In this case it is an INDFK awarded to the opposition for a second touch by the kicker from where it occurred subject to the special circumstances in the goal area.. There is NO possibility of the goal being allowed ! You provide the reasoning in law within your question, NO OTHER player touched the ball!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Adamu
A player taking a corner kick may not touch the ball for a second time until it has been touched / played by another player. As it has come back off the frame of the goal it is a technical offence for the player to touch the ball for a second time. The restart is an IDFK from where the ball was played for the 2nd time.
It is a very rare offence and sometimes when it happens the referee may not be thinking about the double touch infringement as the ball has to travel at least 40 yards for it to happen.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29175
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>