Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29623

Law 7 - Match Duration 8/22/2015

RE: Competetive Under 11

Heather Dodson of Phelan, Ca Usa asks...

Can a ref end the game after a penalty kick is awarded and before the kick happens

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Not a penalty kick, no. Time is extended for the taking of the PK, and just for the kick. No follow-up play can take place.

Any other restart, if the time runs out, the ref can end the game.

However, you may have some local rules in your league that prohibits adding time for any reason. It's more important to keep the games on schedule. In that case, the league rules probably did not make an exception for a penalty kick at the end of the game. Those who make the rules don't always think of all the consequences.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Heather,
if a PK is awarded, by the LOTG it must be taken, even if time is extended to allow for JUST the kick. If it was a free kick, DFK or INDFK, a corner, goal kick or throw in or even a kick off the referee could end the match before the kick occurs.
Mind you if you are involved in a league that limits time on the field thus changing the LOTG that allow time for a PK to occur as my colleague Ref Voshol points out not every situation ends fairly.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Heather
That is not possible. A game must be extended to allow a penalty kick to be taken. No further play can be allowed after the kick so if a goal is scored directly it is allowed. If it rebounds back into play then no further play is allowed by kicking the rebound.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29623
Read other Q & A regarding Law 7 - Match Duration

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>