Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29755

Law 7 - Match Duration 9/30/2015

RE: High School Under 17

James Addie of Fort Knox, Ky USA asks...

When awarded a free kick and the clock is running, the kicker kicks the ball with 1.5 seconds remaining. If the ball enters the goal without being touched and the time expires prior to the ball entering, does the goal count?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi James
Once time has fully expired and the referee signals the end of play no further play is allowed. If the ball does not enter the goal before the whistle sounds no goal can be awarded.
In a USSF / FIFA game the timing of soccer is unlike NFHS or other sports with exact timing methods that end when time expires. Most referees in USSF / FIFA games would probably wait for the outcome of a kick before ending the game. Not so in NFHS soccer.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Since you reference high school: Under NFHS rules, time is up when the clock runs out. Period. It's not like gridiron where we allow the play to end. If the ball isn't in the net when the clock hits zero and the buzzer sounds, it is not a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone


It does not count. As indicated in Rule 7-1-4, a period ends at the expiration of time.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29755
Read other Q & A regarding Law 7 - Match Duration

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>