Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 29779

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/5/2015

RE: Competitive Travel Under 11

Robert of South Plainfield, NJ USA asks...

My player was awarded a penalty kick. After the referee signaled to proceed with the kick (by using his whistle), the wind caused the ball to roll off the penalty mark to the side. I'm not sure how far but at least one roll of the ball as it was visible by me from our bench. My player approached and kicked the ball and a save was made. Is their any recourse in a situation where the ball moves from the spot, after the signal but prior to the kick? Could my player have stopped his motion, and asked to replace the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Robert,
yes I hold the opinion, your kicker could have stopped and asked to have the ball replaced as the LOTG state the ball must be on the PK spot at the taking of a PK. Given he proceeded and the keeper saved, the referee likely did not consider it necessary to retake because he had not re-whistled to stop the PK from occurring. I hold the opinion the ball should be on the PK spot but understand how a windy day might rock that boat and some wobble might be trifling . I have stopped the odd PK with an early whistle and had the ball replaced on the spot at least twice that I remember. Once I had my AR hold it on the spot as the wind gusts made a mockery of a ball sitting still. This made for an interesting talk if the PK was legal but he stayed on the ball until after the run up started and bailed just prior to the kicker who kicked the ball over the crossbar.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Robert
I suspect that as the player continued with his run up and kicks the ball that the referee saw nothing untoward particularly if the ball was still on the penalty mark or close to it and stationary Had the ball move away appreciably from the mark say forwards the referee may have required that the kick was taken again. Also had the player saw the ball move significantly he could have asked the referee for the ball to be replaced and that request would be acceded to.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29779
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>