Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29787

Law 16 - Goal Kick 10/6/2015

RE: competitive Under 10

Richard of Evanston, Illinois United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29662

As a follow-up to the question about a double-touch if a goal kick does not leave the penalty area......

What if a goal kick is taken toward the side of the penalty area but rolls out of the penalty area over the end line (goal line) before exiting the area? To clarify, the ball was kicked, rolled along the ground, and rolled over the goal line just before it would have exited the penalty area.

I called for a re-take of the goal kick because I was taught that a goal kick was not in play, '...until it leaves the penalty area into the field of play.' In this case it left the area, but not into the field of play.

Thoughts on this...?

Thank you!

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Richard,
very little thought required, retake, you were taught correctly, spot on mate! Kicking the ball into your goal or over the goal line extending outward from the goal posts to the base of the 18 yard PA intersection is not going to get it done. Might get you a LOOK and a warning though for delaying the restart. The ball must be IN PLAY when it exits the PA!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Richard
As the ball is not in play as it has not left the penalty area the only possible restart is a retake.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29787
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.