Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29794

Law 16 - Goal Kick 10/8/2015

RE: Rec Under 8

Jenn of SANDWICH, IL United States asks...

My question is on a Goal Kick, if the defensive player takes the kick, can the goalie stay inside the goal box or does he have to move out to the Penalty box. Sorry new coach so want to make sure I teach them properly.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jenn
Yes the goalkeeper can be located anywhere which includes inside the goal area. Clearly the best position is inside that area so as to be in position for any subsequent play

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jenn,
first off thanks for taking the responsibility of ensuring kids get to play! U -8 kids should be permitted to play for fun without too rigid a structure. The answer is YES! If you have a designated keeper he can remain on the goal line if you wish.

I am not a big fan of keepers for mini or youth soccer. The non necessity of the keeper position as a requirement to play is something that I prefer to endorse in youth soccer. I rather they learn to defend and play without the use of their hands. Just a matter of my opinion on the cognitive ability of children and the benefits of learning good habits.

On ANY free kick, be it a Goal Kick or INDFK or DFK coming out of YOUR own PA (18 yd. penalty area) which INCLUDES the GA is the (6 yard goal area) out in front of the goal, all of your team can be inside goal area or penalty area. On mini fields these areas might be smaller or even a single marked area.

The only stipulation on the goal or free kick coming out of the PA or GA is the ball must fully clear the PA to be played by a team mate. The opposition are NOT permitted into the PA at all plus they must respect the distance on free kicks no matter where the ball is placed within the PA as well, nor can they come in to the PA until the ball leaves the PA!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29794
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.