Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29807

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 10/11/2015

RE: pro Adult

alireza of tehran, tehran iran asks...

what if the keeper trow the ball accidentally to their own goal?is it count as a goal or thats a foul?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Alireza,

The ball is in play while the keeper is holding it - so there are no particular rules around how it must be released or where it must go (unlike a goal kick). So that would be a goal (and yes, I have seen it happen!)

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Alireza,
unfortunately if play is live, it is a goal and it is likely not only the keeper but his team mates will be feeling a little foul as their opposition will be happy and laughing . If the ball was not live but this was a goal kick or a free kick out and the keeper kicked it into the goal it is a retake and we have to wonder what was he thinking. If the ball was a defending free kick taken from outside the PA and it was accidently kicked directly into the goal the restart is a corner kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alreza
AS the ball is in play the goal is awarded. It is simply a poor mistake by the goalkeeper
He is an example
Goalkeeper goes to throw the ball to a team mate, changes his mind which then causes the ball to spin from his hand and into the goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29807
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.