Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29938

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 11/21/2015

RE: Rec Adult

Russ B of Beaumont, California United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 29924

Maybe I misunderstood the question so Just to follow up on the initial question which says that 'the penalty kick is about to be taken' why isnt a penality kick awarded.

A penality kick can not be awarded since the ball is not in play.

I would say to the person that asked the question that his unfamiliarity with the LOTG is the root cause of his frustration And like man spectators probably starting yelling at the ref crew.

How can you award a penalty kick the ball is not in play? Misconduct yes, PK no.


Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Russ,
you are correct in thinking that any MISCONDUCT which occurs BEFORE the corner kick is just that misconduct and it would not change the coroner kick restart
Yet I inferred the questioner was simply venting his frustration ONCE the corner kick has been taken the holding and pushing inside the PENALTY AREA is blatantly obvious yet no PKS are awarded to the attack or a DFK out for the defence.
You could easily award a PK or a DFK on almost any corner kick taken as the ball is being delivered into the PA! Far too often in my opinion these fouls are considered as trifling or doubtful or simply ignored. And judging from the tone of the last questioner he would have this same opinion!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Russ
You are indeed correct. A free kick or penalty kick can only be awarded when the ball is in play.
Now what has happened in the modern game is that referees are constantly stepping in to speak with players before the kick is taken. That holds up the game and for me it is frustrating when done multiple times. Yes I can see times when the situation between two players can escalate into something more serious and the referee needs to intervene. However when it becomes constant I feel that the game would be better served just waiting for the kick to be taken and then awarding what ever foul comes first.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29938
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?

Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.