Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 29981

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 12/9/2015

RE: Adult

Euan Mclean of Yellowknife, NT Canada asks...

Hi Mr. Ref, this may sound like a silly question but I am just looking for confirmation. If the ball appears to cross the line and the official does not indicate by pointing to centre, allows play to continue and seconds later blows for full time is it a good goal? He verbally indicated to the attacking team that the goal was good after blowing for full time but did not indicate that a goal was scored, nor did he advise the defending team that a goal had been scored. He entered the goal to the league.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Euan
Did the referee blow to award the goal and then end the game immediately? Certainly there should be little doubt that a goal has been scored and awarded so the referees mechanics here would be highly questionable.
If the referee declared that it was a goal then that happened before the game was ended so the goal was good.
Now you do not mention if it was a winning goal or just *another* goal. I suspect it was the latter. Perhaps the referee was being coy here by awarding a goal that had no impact on the game and in the manner that he did so caused no rancour with the defending team as they simply did not know. No debate then about whether the ball fully crossed the line or not. I can assure you this that had the goal been to win the game it could not be fudged nor should it be at any time.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Euan,
no such thing as a silly question, unless it goes unasked.
Looks like some ugly mechanics are at work here?
If while the ball was in play on the field of play, said ball COMPLETELY crossed the goal line under the crossbar between the posts. The team that benefitted had not infringed upon the LOTG, then that is a good goal and the WHISTLE could sound to stop play especially if it was not readily clear the goal occurred as in seeing it inside the netted area bulging the old onion skin! To not whistle for sometime after is weird? Perhaps he received additional late information from an AR that the ball did in fact enter the goal and ended the match then and there? If this was the last few seconds and he is confirming that a goal was scored, certainly no gold star for the way in which he did so to be sure! It is customary to whistle a goal and award a kick off if it is at all unclear the ball did enter the goal. The AR should have raised a flag if he saw the goal and if he was unseen, kept it raised as he runs along the touchline following further play.

All I can say seems fishy but hopefully it is only the mechanics that are fault.

Decisions of the referee
The decisions of the referee regarding facts connected with play, including
whether or not a goal is scored and the result of the match, are final.
The referee may only change a decision on realising that it is incorrect or, at his
discretion, on the advice of an assistant referee or the fourth official, provided
that he has not restarted play or terminated the match.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 29981
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>