Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30060

Law 15 - Throw In 1/30/2016

Chris of Liverpool, England asks...

Can a ref award the throw in the other way if they indicate that the player is taking too much time?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Chris
No that is not possible. The referee could determine though that the throw in was taken from the incorrect location which is a reason to award the throw in to the opponents. Another possibility is that the throw in motion is incorrect which is also a turnover.
If the throw in is taken from the correct location and in the proper manner the only remedy for delaying the restart of play is a caution for same. That foes not change the restart.

BTW this is one of the law changes that I believe would help the game. Use it or lose it is a principle in other sports such as rugby. It would work to help speed up restarts if it was introduced IMO. Until then the only censure is a caution.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Chris
Short answer is NO!
although if the thrower is lolly gagging he can be cautioned shown a yellow card for delaying the restart . The throw in must be performed as the restart demanded by law only if the restart is performed can we judge if it was done correctly!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

A throw can only be awarded the other way if the referee realises he made an error and is correcting that, or if the throw is incorrectly taken (for example, taken from the wrong part, or the feet are lifted). If the player is simply taking too long he should be cautioned but still take the throw.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30060
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.