Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30107

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 2/14/2016

RE: competitive and rec Under 14

Uriel Choi of Chandler, az usa asks...

U11 boys game. A defender heads the ball and it goes into his own goal. What is the restart? and why?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Unless there's something you're not telling us, this seems to be a simple situation. The restart would be a kickoff. Because the defender has scored an own goal. Too bad.

Any reason you would think it should be something else?

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Uriel,
an own goal is still a goal! Accidents happen! Even if the defenders had deliberately tried to keep it out illegally you apply advantage. As long as the opposing team being credited with the goal has not violated the LOTG before the ball entered the goal crossed the line under the crossbar between the posts best you can do is award the goal restart with a kick off and perhaps ensure the defender is not in tears or being ridiculed by team mates.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Uriel
Has an offence been committed by the scoring team? If no offence has been committed and the ball enters the goal then the referee awards a goal. It makes no difference who scores the goal and it can be an own goal scored by a defender.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30107
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30119

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>