Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30176

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/5/2016

RE: Select Under 16

Calvin Smith of Beaverton, Oregon United State asks...

The ref blew her whistle because of an offside. After the whistle a player going for the ball kicked it into the goal anyway and the ref called it a good goal. How can that be?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Calvin,
You ask How can it be? The referee is having what we commonly call a brain cramp! NO! It is NOT possible to award a goal if play is stopped via a referee's whistle. If the whistle sounds be it for offside, a foul or by mistake, play is DEAD and must be restarted with a free kick or a drop ball for an inadvertent whistle!
This is a protestable situation and if it is reviewed and found to have occurred as you describe chances are the match gets replayed or some sort of repercussions will follow! The key point is the referee match report needs to confirm such an action occurred not that he claimed the goal was first whistle occurred next! Or an independent video that might be used .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Calvin
As described it cannot be a goal. Once the whistle sounded then no further play is allowed. If the referee made an error then in Law with an erroneous whistle then all that she can do is apologise and restart with a dropped ball from where the ball was when play was stopped.
Now there can be a number of reasons why this happened
1. The referee made a mistake on the offside and thought that she could correct the error by allowing the goal due to her thinking that she can change any decision before the next restart.
2. The whistle sounded too soon for the goal and it may have been assumed that it made no difference to the outcome.
In either thinking a goal cannot be awarded.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30176
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?

Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.