Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 30256

Law 5 - The Referee 4/5/2016

RE: select Professional

Hussain Jan of Muscat, muscat Oman asks...

On a free kick the ball went to goal net and Gk punched the ball back. I was waiting for AR signal that did the ball crossed the line? but no signal from AR. Ball was in play, opposite team took the ball and made a foul so match stopped (it took about 30 seconds). Players moved towards AR to appeal. I sent them back and we both and fourth official discussed. AR said the ball touched the net but i was confused whether it came from inside or outside. If the ball came between the goal posts then it is goal because ball totally crossed the line.so we decide that ball is goal. Opposite team denied that AR must decide in seconds otherwise this late decision is wrong. Can you explain?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Hussain
A late decision is simply that. Late. If play has not restarted then the referee can and should go back to the original decision.
In this case even if it was 20/30 seconds late as long as the decision was correct that is if the ball crossed the goal line then a goal is awarded.
Obviously it is poor mechanics by the AR yet it does not negate the fact that a goal was scored nor does time make it a wrong decision. It would only be *wrong* if the ball did not cross the goal line or that play had restarted.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Hussain,
The decision may not be wrong just poorly presented!
The selling aspect of the goal is complicated by the delay but it does not mean that the decision to award the goal is invalid. If as you indicated the ball completely crossed the goal line UNDER the crossbar and between the posts then if there was no infringement by the team scoring we have a good goal.
As long as no restart had occurred the goal is still available to be counted IF you are satisfied the requirements for a goal were in fact met?

This punch out and net touch seems rather vague to me, given how a net hang? Is the ball hitting the netting at the top of goal above the crossbar or the part stretching around the sides by the posts before it was punched out?? Why are you sure it went in? Could it have entered through a hole in the netting?
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30256
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?


Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.