Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30367

Law 15 - Throw In 4/30/2016

RE: Rec Adult

Kai Huang of Doncaster, Victoria Australia asks...

What should be the method of restarting play when a throw-in goes straight out of bounds (without entering the field of play)?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kai
The restart is a retake of the throw in.
Now if the ball breaks the plane of the touchline the ball is in play and if it subsequently swings out of play the restart is a throw in to the opponents where it re-crossed the plane of the touchline

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Kai,

If the throw was otherwise taken legally and it does not enter the field, it's a retake. If the throw was taken incorrectly, then the other team takes the throw in.

Bear in mind though, that the moment the slightest sliver of the ball touches the vertical plane of the touch line (the moment any part is above the touch line) it's in play then considered to have gone out like normal. If it swings over the line then back out, players will often expect a retake, so it can help to explain that it swung over the line.

As an AR, I would simple signal in the appropriate direction for the TI. The referee should be astute enough to realise why you may be signalling in the same direction as what the throw was taken.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30367
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.