Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30381

Law 1- The Field 5/3/2016

RE: park and rec Under 13

Abigail of watertown, wisconson u.s.a asks...

if you hit the crossbar what will happen/

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Abigail
Nothing. It is part of play so if the ball rebounds back into play the game continues. If the ball hits the crossbar and goes out if play it is either a goal kick or a corner kick depending on who touched the ball last.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


Depending on the speed of the shot, it might make a loud 'thud'. Hopefully if you are the defending team it bounces away from the goal. If you are the attacking team, you may be hoping it bounces into the goal. Either way, the ball remains in play as the crossbar is on the line and a ball on the line is still in play.

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If you as a player hit it with your body (especially your head) you might hurt yourself, so watch out!

Other than that, the goal is in play. It should be properly positioned directly over the end line. So if the ball hits it, it's not out of play yet. The ball has to completely cross the line to be out of play.

Your question is rather open-ended, so I'll add this note. If you hit the goal on a free kick, corner kick or penalty kick, you as kicker may not play the ball again. It has to touch another player before you can touch it again - and the goal is not a player.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30381
Read other Q & A regarding Law 1- The Field

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>