Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30404

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/11/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30399

Under the new FIFA laws effective June, 2016, Law 3 now says a referee can award a DFK if a team official interferes with play. If a coach participated in this ruse, by yelling for another player to take the corner kick, could this be considered interfering with play? This assumes, of course, that you can tell that the coach is trying to deceive the other team.
Thank you,

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
Interference as mentioned in the Laws refers to physical interference not verbal. The explanation given by IFAB was that there is a growing problem of substitutes/team officials entering the field to interfere with play or an opponent, e.g. stopping a goal. This is clearly 'unfair' and a direct free kick (or penalty kick if in own penalty area) is more appropriate.
In the ruse situation I just do not allow it. It is a retake for me. As it us misconduct by the coach he gets spoken to.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Don't forget Phil, the coach's verbal interference happened before the ball was in play on the trick corner kick. I haven't read the New Laws through, but I don't think they are changing any more of the very few situations where a restart changes because of something that happens when the ball is not in play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30404
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>