Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30455

Law 15 - Throw In 5/27/2016

RE: Competitive Under 15

Rob of Flin Flon, Canada asks...

Can the opposing team score on a throw in if before going into the goal the goalie touches the ball attempting to stop the ball.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Rob,
A goal may not be scored directly from a throw in. Like an indirect free kick, the moment it touches any player, it's no longer 'directly'. So if the goalkeeper gets a fingertip on the ball and it goes in the goal, it's a legitimate goal.

Therefore, like an indirect free kick - if the ball is going straight into the goal and no attacker is going to touch it, the goalkeeper can just allow the ball to enter the goal untouched and it will be a goal kick.

It doesn't make a difference if it's going into the opponent's goal or the player's own goal for this law.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Rob
This is a question which shows the importance of knowing the Laws. A goal cannot be scored directly from any throw in. If it enters the goal directly from an attacking throw in it is a goal kick. If it enters from a defensive one it is a corner kick. Now if the defending team including the goalkeeper knows this it may be better not to touch the ball as it enters if the outcome is in doubt. If it is touched and the player does not prevent it entering the net a goal is awarded.
Have a look at this
The ball was adjudged by Referee Elleray to have been touched by Enckelman the Villa goalkeeper although has stated on numerous occasions that he did not touch the ball prior to it entering the net. He also stated that he knew that a goal could not be scored directly yet he did not protest and his reaction suggested that he did touch it?
Here is another one
The commentator clearly know it requires a touch for a goal to be awarded. Did it touch another player? Referee opined that it was touched if a girl was awarded.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Rob,
short answer YES!
I know firsthand it is tough for a keeper to grasp that on a directly throw in by the opposition if the ball is about to enter the net the keeper should simply allow it if it is difficult to get too. Then take the goal kick.
I coached a senior girls high school team, playing on a narrow field the opposition had a very strong throw in taker who could throw directly into the goal. My keeper jumped up prevent it and of course created the touch to make the goal good. Instinct overruled her knowledge of the game and my yelling from the touchline was ineffective sigh! Sad fact we lost that game by a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30455
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>