Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30543

Law 14 - Penalty kick 6/26/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30535

I have a follow-up to Q# 30535. When Law 14 says that the GK must be on the goal line, does this mean that both feet must be on the plane of the goal line? The LOTG doesn't actually specify, although the now defunct Advice to Referees does say so.

I realize, after reading the answers about encroachment, that this probably wouldn't be called, as it's fairly trivial, but I'd like to know the requirement.

Thanks again,

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Phil, Law 14 only says that the goalkeeper must 'remain' on the line. We know the keeper can move back and forth, a change that was put into the Laws several years ago. Unless the keeper is dragging his feet as he moves from side to side, one or both of feet will come off the line at some point. So the keeper is in compliance if he remains in the plane of the goal line. And as you say, any movement just minutely off the line should be considered trifling and not be punished. A nice theoretical question to be considered, but not to be taken seriously in a game.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
The accepted wisdom is that both feet must be on the line and the former ATR had it correct. Anyway it is highly unlikely for the goalkeeper to stand with one foot off the line and the other on. That places him in a poor body position and one that does not allow great mobility.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30543
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>