Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 30598

Law 13 - Free Kicks 7/13/2016

RE: Adult

Alan Parkes of Waingroves, Derbyshire England asks...

The goalkeeper is on his goal line. There is no pressure on a defender who passes back to his goalkeeper to kick it clear. The goalkeeper doesn't move from his goal line. He makes a mistake and picks up the ball.
What should the referee do? Free kick? Where?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alan
Very simple. As the ball was deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper by a team mate the GK may not touch the ball with his hand/s. To do so is an offence punished by an indirect free kick from where the GK touched the ball with his hand. If it happened inside the goal area Law 13 requires that the restart us taken from the 6 yard line directly opposite from where the offence took place.
In your scenario the IDFK is on the 6 yard line in the location opposite from where the GK touched the ball with his hands with all defending players either on the goal line or 10 yards from the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Alan,
If the goalkeeper handles the ball after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate (or trapped and intentionally left for the keeper), it's an indirect free kick from where the offence occurred. If inside the Goal Area (6 yard box), then the IFK is moved directly out to the edge of the GA - and the defensive team can line up on the goal line to defend the goal).

A goalkeeper can never be cautioned or sent off for this sort of offence, even if it stops a goal.

Even if the goalkeeper kicked the ball but mucked up the kick then handled it, it's still an IFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30598
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>