Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30602

Law 14 - Penalty kick 7/13/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30597

Thank you for all the answers, but it still seems confusing. I understand that problems can be prevented by finding a few extra seconds.

Referee Wright has given a scenario where a defender, other than the GK, has prevented the ball from entering the goal (during extended time or KFTPM). However, Law 10 says that during KFTPM...
'All eligible players, except the player taking the kick and the two goalkeepers, must remain within the centre circle'...

1) If that is true, then as soon as a defender interferes, I would think it would be a retake, wouldn't it?
2) And if that is true for KFTPM, wouldn't it also be true for a PK in extended time? i.e. aren't the LOTG the same for extended time & KFTPM (regarding the kick only, of course)?

Thanks again,

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
The answer related to a regular penalty kick. In added time players are entitled to be on the field of play so the referee cannot direct them to be elsewhere. He can advise that no follow up is allowed which may get therm to consider that there is no point of encroaching / following into the penalty area. That message though may be difficult to convey to everyone .
In Kicks from the Penalty Mark that just cannot happen as the only players involved are the goalkeeper and the kicker and a follow up by the kicker negates any outcome.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Phil,

KFTPM is a different kettle of fish - as all players, except the kicker and goalkeepers, must remain in the centre circle all of these issues are avoided.

The question was specific to a scenario where a penalty kick is awarded right on the end of time so the match is extended purely to permit the kick. According to the LOTG it's a little similar to KFTM in that once the result of the kick is over, that's it.

If you've decided to 'find a few extra seconds' (which isn't an option in games played without stoppage, such as tournaments), then you need to ensure you have advised the players before the kick that it's the end of the match. If you've taken steps to advise that it's the end of the half/match, then any touch by a player other than the goalkeeper ends it.

Because the players are not required to be in the centre circle when time is extended for a PK the laws are not the same (thus, a defender can certainly run in after the ball is kicked to clear a ball about to trickle over the line), though there are some similarities.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

High School rules concerning kicks from the penalty mark differ from the USSF Rules, and since your under 13 players may be playing high school soccer in the near future, this may be of value to you. In high school soccer, the recommended (not required as some states may differ) rules allow any player who is eligible to participate in the kicks from the penalty mark. Only the goalkeeper and kickers are allowed on the field with the kickers in the center circle until they have to leave to take the kick. All other players and coaches must remain in the bench area. After taking the kick, kickers must also return to the bench area unless, of course, they are also serving as goalkeeper. This rule would prevent the occurrence of your situation.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30602
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.