Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30658

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 8/9/2016

RE: Competitive Under 13

Sam of Santa Clara, CA USA asks...

In the new laws, it says that it has to at least touch two players in order for it to be a legal goal if it enters the goal, from a dropped ball. If a player takes the ball from a dropped ball and dribbled it and shoots and scores, is that still a legal goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Sam
There was an anomaly in the previous dropped ball restart law where at a Fair Play restart many referees questioned what was meant by directly. In such a restart where say the ball was teed up with a few touches by a player and then kicked towards goal was that considered direct? Some felt that it was not while many felt that the spirit of the law suggested otherwise, of which I was one. Also many questioned the unfairness of a player dribbling the ball away unsportingly to score and that there was not a clearly spelled out position on this.
So what you describe is not now a legal goal and the wording tidies that all up. The player must play the ball to a team mate or for the ball to touch an opponent before it enters the goal for the goal to be awarded. If it is a straight dribble and shot by the same player it is not a goal and it is a goal kick restart.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

This is a change to clarify drop ball situations. Clearly if only one player takes the ball from the drop ball and kicks it into the net, it is not a goal but a goal kick. The new Laws makes this very clear as to the meaning of 'directly'.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30658
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>