Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30668

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/13/2016

RE: Youth to adult, comp and rec.

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

Time-wasting topic.

We saw the US keeper, Hope Solo, pull a stunt in the USA-Sweden Olympic women's match yesterday, calling for a new set of gloves before the final Sweden shot.

I just did a text search of FIFA's on-line Laws. While there is mention of shin guards, stockings and shorts, there is NO mention of gloves.

Should the ref simply have said, 'Gloves are not a requirement. Wear the ones you've got or take them off.' ?

Second scenario: a team is hanging on to a 1-goal lead in a decisive game, late in stoppage time. They are awarded a throw-in, deep in their defensive end of the field, with the attackers massing in the corner to intercept the throw-in.

With no defenders close to the ball, none of them rush to put the ball into play. They all just stand there, no closer than 20 paces from the ball. The attackers are, of course, incensed.

Other than stopping the clock, can the ref DO anything? Can he single-out a player and say, 'YOU¦ get over there and throw it!'

'But ref, I have a bad shoulder¦'

Seems it would be hard to single out one player for a caution, when they are all equally far away from the ball.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Interesting one. I believe the referee handled it okay. Perhaps the referee could have denied the request which may then have caused the accusation of not allowing the player to be satisfied with her equipment.
Personally I believe it was uncalled for by the player and it has opened the player up to accusations of unsporting gamesmanship. She has been heavily criticised on social media for her action. I also think that it also raises the question of product endorsement and placement!!! So yes the referee could have denied the request and if there was a delay caution the player for delaying.
On the throw in scenario the referee has to be proactive here by insisting that the team gets on with the restart. I would be shouting to the team as to who is taking the throw in. I certainly will be adding on the time and telling the team plus motioning to my watch that it is stopped. If a player steps forward and he continues yo be tardy then he gets cautioned.
It raises a point that I have made in the past on possible law changes. I like the Use it or Lose it rule in some other sports. If the team makes no effort to take the restart the ball should be turned over to the opponents.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee James Sowa


Two good scenarios here.

In the first one, you are correct. Gloves are not a required piece of equipment. However, the referee should use some common sense and realize that the goalkeeper's glove are extremely important to the goalkeeper. While the referee has the right to refuse this exchange, I would lean towards allowing it so long as the replacement gloves are readily available. In the case of the kicker, I would not summon the kicker until the exchange has been made and we are ready to resume. If it appears to be nothing more than a deliberate attempt to waste time, then a caution may be in order as well. Overall, I think the referee handled it during the game OK.

In your second scenario, this is a good time to make use of the captain. If no one is motivated to take the throw-in, a simple word with the captain may suffice. If it does not, I would caution the captain. Ideally, you are able to manage this with your words, but if you must resort to the pocket, the captain would be the ideal place to start. Of course, you should add all lost time back on and make it very public to the defending team that you are doing so.

Read other questions answered by Referee James Sowa

View Referee James Sowa profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30668
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>