Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30728

Law 15 - Throw In 9/7/2016

RE: Intermediate Under 13

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

Law 15.1 (throw-in) now specifically says the ball must be thrown with both hands. The explanation says this is to prevent a one handed throw with the other hand just guiding.

In the past, some referees would penalize a throw-in where the ball spun sideways, which occurs when the force is unequally applied. Others felt it was OK, as long as both hands were used.

Under the new law, would a side ways spinning ball be evidence of a one handed throw (& illegal)?

Thanks again for all the advice.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Phil
No there is no law that says both hands must apply equal force. What we are preventing is a grenade lob type action. There is nothing that says how hard or how far a ball must travel.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
Keep it simple. If the player has both hands on the ball and it comes directly over his head then that is all that is required. Yes spin was seen as a tell tale sign when the law required that both hands were USED. The new law is to prevent the one handed throw with the 2nd hand used as a guide only.
Not sure of the genesis of this change as I have not seen it as an issue at any level.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30728
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.