Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30756

Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play 9/13/2016

RE: State Under 17

Mark of San Jose, CAlifornia USA asks...

For dropped ball, I understand it must at least two players for it to be a legal goal. If the ball is dropped and a player dribbles around the penalty area, hasn't touched a player, just the dribbling player,t hen leaves the penalty area and then shoots and scores, does it count as a goal?

What if a player passes it to his teammate and they play a 1 2 pass and score, is that legal?

What if the player takes a shot and hits a defender and goalkeeper and goes in, is that a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
As the Law states that without touching at least two players a goal cannot be awarded. In your first scenario with the single player dribbling and then shooting no goal can be awarded.
On the other scenarios a goal would be allowed as it is then not deemed to be direct having touched a second player.
I personally though would have difficulty with the deflection / save scenario as would the teams. Examples on the web show goalkeepers trying to save in vain kicks to them that went astray. Most result in an uncontested goal which IFAB wants to eliminate. A referee could easily miss a touch deeming that the ball entered the goal directly in which case no goal can be awarded.
When it is clear that the player has deliberately abused a Fair Play restart I would be stepping in to deal with it as USB which is a caution and an IDFK restart.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Mark,
Doesn't matter what the first player does - has it touched a second player?
So in the first, no goal. The second two are legitimate goals as the defender or the teammate are both other players.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30756
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - Start and Restart of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>