Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 30802

Law 15 - Throw In 9/22/2016

RE: Amateur Adult

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

Over the weekend, it was a very wet morning. A player initiated a throw in. As the ball was coming forward, both hands, from behind the head....just as the throw in was being completed, the ball slips out of the players hand and comes out a little awkward. I was the AR next to the player. In my opinion, the criteria was met for a good throw in so i let play continue. The CR blew his whistle and awarded a throw in to the other team. I would like to know what did i miss?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi George,

It is very possible that you did not miss anything and that this is a simple case of two officials having a different point of view - whether physically or conceptually.

I would say that there are some referees who (IMHO) are way too finicky in calling improperly-taken throw-ins. The requirements of the law in this regard are relatively few and many perceived offences are probably either not really offences or are so trivial as to not be worth calling.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi George
This should be covered in the pre match discussion. Typically I ask ARs to look after foot faults only and I as referee look after the throwing action. As Referee Grove points out referees having differing opinions on what us legal at a throw in and what us not. So really you did not miss anything just a difference of interpretation. I suspect that it depends on how much of the throw was a slip of the ball.
Indeed at lower age groups I might allow the player to retake the throw in.
Have a look at this compilation
At frame 29 the ball slips out of the Red players hands. The referee awards the TI to White and I believe correctly so. As the ball was not thrown more dropped. Another two at frames 58 to 106. I believe TIs were awarded rather than DFKs for handling.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30802
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>