Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 31596

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/11/2017

RE: Select Under 17

Chrism of Brisbane, QLD Australia asks...

If the goalie handles the ball in the box and puts one of his feet outside the field of play (over back line beside the goal) is the ball in or out? The ball remains in the box.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

It is the position of the ball that counts not the position of the player. Do as you describe the ball remains in play and it is play on.
In addition all of the ball must be over all of the line to be out of play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Chrism,
If any part of the ball is inside the PA or even just above the line that borders the PA, then the entire ball is considered to be inside the PA. Even if the keeper handles the part of the ball that's outside the PA, doesn't matter. The position of the keeper's feet/body is irrelevant.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Chrism,
As my colleagues have said, it doesn't matter where the keeper's feet are. The only thing to consider is where the ball is. Unless the whole of the ball is completely over the line, the ball is still in play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31596
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.