Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 31639

Law 17 - The Corner Kick 7/10/2017

RE: selects Under 19

Fred of Vancouver, BC Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 30789

What is the restart? The Law does not say.
Corner: The ball does not clearly move and is not in play. When the second player begins dribbling in, does his first touch put the ball in play? If so, his second touch is an offense and an IFK should be awarded.
IFK: Same scenario except the second player kicks into the goal. If the ball hadn't clearly moved then the second player has kicked the ball directly into the goal and a goal kick should be awarded.
Or is the restart simply a retake.
Should trickery or deception have any influence over the restart?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Fred
On a corner kick if the first kick does not put the ball into play then the second player may only touch the ball once otherwise it will be a double touch infringement punished by an IDFK should he kick the ball twice. The IDFK is taken from the location of the double touch. However it can only be a double touch if the first touch by the 2nd player happens inside the corner arc which is the most likely situation anyway.
On the IDFK your thinking is correct. The restart is a goal kick as a goal cannot be scored directly from an IDFK. The issue will be around whether the first touch actually moved the ball or not. The referee is the judge of that
Not sure what you mean by trickery or deception. We need to be sure that the ball was not kicked and moved because should the ball be moved then there will not be an offence. Now the recent update to the Laws has stated that the ball must now CLEARLY move. In the past it simply stated moved which is a much less onerous requirement aas an inch or so of movement would satisfy *moved*. Some even said that a ball wobble was a move. I believe that amendment is trying to assist referees in that a touch of a ball which may have met the moved requirement is now not sufficient to put the ball into play. The referees now has to sees the ball clearly move then for it to be in play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the first touch on any restart is not enough for the ref to see that the ball was 'kicked and moved', then it's as if that touch never happened. The next touch that is a kick is what puts the ball into play. If the same player touches it again immediately after that, it's in indirect free kick infraction.

If the first touch on an indirect free kick goes into the goal, it's a goal kick (or a corner kick if it's kicked into one's own goal, however rare that might be).

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Fred,
In both the examples you give, I think you'll find the law does specify the restart. As ref Voshol says, if the ball does not clearly move, the touch by the first player does not count. So for the corner kick scenario, the following applies:

''If, after the ball is in play, the kicker touches the ball again before it has touched another player an indirect free kick is awarded'

For the indirect free kick situation:

''if an indirect free kick is kicked directly into the opponents' goal, a goal kick is awarded''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31639
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - The Corner Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>