Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 31921

Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play 10/19/2017

RE: Adult

Muhammad Rizwan of Abbottabad, Abbottabad Pakistan asks...

Sir, A a Goal Can Score Direct from a Kick off?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson


Hi Muhammad,
Yes sir you can!
All that's required is the referee signal to start. a good solid aimed ball kicked down field, perhaps with a little wind assist or fortuitous bounce & an inattentive keeper.
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Muhammad
Before 1997 it was not possible however now it is a goal if the ball enters the opponents goal directly from a kick off after the signal by the referee.
Here is an example
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6XCBq8W-OsI
As the ball can now be kicked backwards at a kick off an own goal cannot be scored by the kicking team. The restart there is a corner kick. Unlikely but one never knows!



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Muhammad,
Yes, a goal can be scored from the kick off but only against the opponents. This was not possible prior to 1997 when it was one of the changes in a major rewrite of the Laws.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31921
Read other Q & A regarding Law 8 - The Start and Restart of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>