Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 31992

Law 11 - Offside 11/5/2017

Zluvka of Liberec, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

My question is about short corner kick offside. The corner kick taker plays the ball to his nearby teammate. The teammate stops the ball to allow the kicker to play the ball again. (This teammate steps with the sole on the ball and then puts his foot off the ball.) When is the decisive moment for assessing the 'longer lasting' touch? (Is it the first touch of the sole or the moment when the sole leaves the ball?)

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Zluvka,
The restriction of a second touch is gone immediately the ball contacts the teammate. A sole on top of the ball is NOT a kick unless it pushes the ball away to start it moving but it is second touch if he stops that ball and leaves it for the corner kicker who can legally play the ball and dribble or cross at his discretion EXCEPT as a NEW touch that sole stop is a NEW offside review of position. The corner kicker COULD be offside depending on the distribution of opposition players at that exact moment of release of the ball by his teammate . The offside exemption was only on the kick from the corner arc.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Zluvka
Let us be clear on this. There cannot be offside from the original kick.
Now if the player who receives the ball stops the ball with his foot for the original kicker who comes from an offside position then offside must apply.
Generally the defending team may put defenders on the goal line at say the posts which puts the kicker in an onside position should he come to get involved in play on a short corner.
Here is one that the AR got wrong

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Zluvka,
Although it's a slightly different scenario, based on the wording of the recent IFAB Circular 11, it could appear the decisive point is the first touch on the ball. This circular states:

''When judging an offside position, the first point of contact of the 'play or touch' of the ball should be used.''

I don't think the ruling had this particular scenario in mind, however.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31992
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 32014

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.