Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 31998

Kicks From The Penalty mark 11/6/2017

RE: Competitive Under 14

Ben Grover of Clayton, CA United States asks...

During Kicks from the Penalty Mark, can a team rotate more than one goalkeeper?

I believe the Law talks about replacing a keeper, but it is unclear to me whether that replaced player can then take over again as keeper.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ben
In Kicks from the Penslty Mark once a goalkeeper is substituted due to injury where the team has not used all its game substitutions the replaced goalkeeper takes no further part in the game.
If a team has used all its substitutions then any outfield player can go into goal and replace the goalkeeper.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Ben,
The team may rotate the keeper amongst the on-field players without a problem, as long as the referee is informed first and the new goalkeeper is wearing the goalkeeper's jersey.
At least during KFTM there isn't a concern about time wasting in doing this!

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Ben,
In your question you talk about replacing the keeper and the 'replaced player' taking over again. If you refer to a scenario where the keeper leaves the field and is replaced by a substitute keeper who did not start the KFTPM then no, the keeper who has left the field cannot come back in to function as the keeper again. If you mean that the keeper has swapped places with one of the outfield players already taking part in the kicks then they could switch back again.

The law states that, during KFTPM:

''An eligible player may change places with the goalkeeper'' - there is no mention of any limit on the number of times the players may change places.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 31998
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.