- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 32438Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/9/2018RE: Intermediate Under 14 Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...This question is a follow up to question 32427 Just a clarification on what referee Peter Grove said. Although I've heard announcers talk about impeding when there's contact, it's my understanding that impeding (an IDFK) involves no contact whatsoever. If there's contact, the foul becomes holding (a DFK). While outside of soccer, holding is thought of as grabbing, with soccer, my understanding is that it's unlawful contact that prevents an opposing player from moving freely. Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Phil Yes impeding in a soccer context does not involve contact. With contact it gets escalated to a penal foul. Holding includes use of the body by physically preventing a player from moving forward. The arms do not have to be used which would be normal interpretation of holding outside of soccer. Personally I liked the old foul of *obstruction* which was an IDFK offence and it did involve contact. I cannot recall the last impeding foul that I seen called at any level. Old match videos shows multiple IDFK restarts inside the penalty area for obstruction which was placing the body in the path of an opponent without using arms. The law makers did not like it so it was removed from the laws. Impeding for me just does not work as intended.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Peter Grove Hi Phil, What you said used to be true before the major rewrite of 2016. However one of the amendments made was to add a new direct free kick offence of impeding with contact. Law 12 now states: ''A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences: [...] impedes an opponent with contact'' The explanation given for the change was: ''Confirmation that impeding an opponent with contact is a direct free kick.'' So as it stands, impeding no longer needs to be changed to the different offence of holding if contact is involved, as it can be a DFK offence in and of itself.
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32438
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 32443
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>
|