Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 32538

Law 15 - The Throw In 6/24/2018

RE: Youth to adult, comp and rec.

Barry Stewart of Chilliwack, BC Canada asks...

I sometimes am bothered for a few days by a call I made (or didn't make) in a game, even if it had no bearing on the outcome.

As much as possible, I like to get things right - so if I mess up and can't fix it immediately, I vow to learn from it and do better the next time I see it.

Such was the case on a throw-in in a women's 7-a-side game. The thrower wound up, then spun about 160 degrees and threw the ball to a defender on her team.

Done slowly, this is often seen. The thrower sees no play upfield, so turns the body and passes the ball back, or vice versa.

In this case, the spin was so quick I suspected something had to be wrong in the mechanics; that probably the ball was no longer from behind the head. There was a lot of reaction from the opposition as well. I blew it down and gave the opposition the throw and the game simply continued.

But maybe I blew it?

Is there room in a referee's bag of tricks to say, 'Something didn't look right there - but I'm not sure. Re-do the throw, please'?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barry
Swiveling to throw the ball in an opposite direction happens quite a lot and there is nothing wrong provided the throw begins with the ball behind the head. Most of these throws are entirely legal so unless it is blatantly incorrect I would allow play to continue.
Teams will always shout for any throw in that looks *different* yet that does mean it is a *foul throw* which is the shout that accompanies these appeals.
In the World Cup I have seen probably two throw in actions that looked different or strange yet play was simply allowed to continue.
As we say the TI is a simple way of restarting play and unless it is blatantly unfair such as dropping the ball, running while taking the throw in, taking it from clearly the wrong place I would simply get on with play with a shout of *nothing wrong there*.
As to a retake I would not use that too often except for very young ages where the game is about learning etc. My advice is that there was no obvious infringement and advantage gained by the team in your example so play should just continue.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Barry,
the throw in is a simple method to restart play . Over the years certain myths evolved that are hard to stamp out, feet on the line, spinning ball, dropping the ball directly in front of you and turning of the body so the swivel creates the illusion they are not facing the field. When in fact all of these are fine they just look messy.

In youth if f you are simply going to redo the throw to prove a point and calm down the rabble rousers so intent on finding fault just use the moment to teach, ball over the head, feet on the ground ok? AS a word of experience just do not sweat the small stuff keep yours eyes and attention on the critical components!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

I would argue that on the throw wins, if you're not sure if it was legal or not… Then don't call it. Personally I have let a lot of ugly throws go in the matches. Unless I can clearly see a breach in the laws I won't call illegal throws. Just because there's a spin on the ball does not make it illegal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32538
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - The Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>