Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 32542

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/25/2018

RE: AYSO (Youth Rec League) Under 11

Murphy of SB, USA asks...

Hi am a referee and a player, and I saw a goalie dribble a ball from out of the box and bring it in to the box, then pick it up. It was not a pass from a teammate, and the ref did not call anything. I am sure that was a legal play, but I just would like some clarification. Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

The answer depends on how the goalkeeper got the ball to his feet in the first place.
If it was a deliberate kick from a team mate or the goalkeeper saved the ball and dropped it to his feet the goalkeeper is restricted from touching the ball with his hands no matter where he dribbles the ball to or from.
If it was a kick forward by an opponent then the goalkeeper can dribble the ball inside and outside of the penalty area and still legally pick the ball up when challenged by an opponent.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes it is perfectly legal. If the keeper takes the ball from outside the penalty area, And dribbles it into the penalty area, then picks it up… That is perfectly legit. The only exception would be if it was an intentional pass back from a teammate

Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Murphy,
the key here is HOW did the ball 1st come into the keepers possession?
If the ball was headed or chested back to him by a team mate or he stopped a through ball from the opposition the is nothing wrong as long as he had not already picked the ball up for his 6 seconds of possession. As long as the keeper had not received the ball from a deliberate kick by a team mate or a direct throw in from a team mate he has NO handling restriction.

I had an unusual match where the opposition sent in a long ball that bounced over towards the corner flag that no one followed except the keeper who corralled it about 4 yards from the corner flag and dribbled that ball along the goal line into the PA . A defender came back to receive the pass but the keeper just dribbled the ball into the top of the penalty ARC before a frustrate attacker finally challenged him for the ball. The keeper shielded the ball back into his PA where he decided to fall upon it and use his hands to pick the ball up and after a few seconds attempted to punt the ball down field only to have the frustrated attacker try to hinder that effort . As result the keeper was awarded an INDFK out. The opposition was screaming about him wasting time when I corrected their thinking by reminding them the keeper was simply using up time that THEY allowed him

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32542
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.