Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 32657

Kicks From The Penalty mark 8/19/2018

RE: Rec Adult

Andrew of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...


I understand each team is responsible for selecting from the eligible players the order in which they will take the kicks from the penalty mark. Would you please advise at what point can the order or kicker change understanding that each kick is taken by a different player and all eligible players must take a kick before any player can take a second kick?
For example say player 1 took a penalty kick and it was saved however, the goalkeeper commits an offence and, as a result, the kick is to be retaken. Can the team replace player 1 with another eligible player to take the kick from the penalty mark?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Andrew ,


the order is of no importance OTHER than each player must ONLY go once, be the NEXT identified player taking said kick and all go before anyone goes a second time!

IF a kick is nullified, then that opportunity has YET to occur so then the PK kicker CAN be switched with another who has not already gone!

The same PK kicker is NOT required to go again on a miss or score that is being recalled to go again, another team mate can take their place as long a they have yet to shoot. The referee is simply informed of the change before the PK is to begin again.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Andrew
The order can be changed at any time so in your example the kicker could be changed to a player who has not already taken a kick. The only one that cannot be changed is the last player in the sequence normally the 11th kicker. As there is no eligible player left to take a kick the last player must take a kick although if he is unable to do so the opponents get to reduce by one as well and the sequence begins again. One would hope that the decision could be made before the Kicks begin.
To wait u til the last kick could be unfair if it is a kick to win the KFTPM as the team could then bring forward its best kicker. Nothing the referee can do other than to accept the injury situation and reduce the opponents by one as well.
My advice to referees is to fully understand KFTPM and to be prepared. Teams get annoyed with anything out of the ordinary such as changing the goalkeeper for an outfield player which is allowed along with perhaps order change such as you describe. Knowing the Kaw bring a confidence in decision making.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Andrew,
There is nothing in either the wording or the logic of the Laws that would preclude the changing of the kicker for a retaken penalty (with the proviso that you mention regarding each kick within each set of 11 kicks being taken by a different player).

I have to say that I have never seen this happen and it would be rather unusual if it did but it is not prohibited by the law.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32657
Read other Q & A regarding Kicks From The Penalty mark

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>