Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 32981

Character, Attitude and Control 1/13/2019

RE: Premier Under 17

Tyrone of New York city , New york United States asks...

What would the restart of play be for a referee changing his decision after talking to AR. Say the referee awards the attacking team a penalty for challenge in the box but the AR had a better view and told the referee that it was a clean challenge.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the referee accepts the AR's advice - which the ref is allowed to do - the restart would be determined by what the AR was calling.

Since in this case nothing would be called - no foul either way - the restart would be a dropped ball for an inadvertent whistle.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Tyrone,
In the scenario you describe, the restart would be a dropped ball.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tyrone
As there was no offence then it is considered an inadvertent whistle which has a dropped ball restart from the location the ball was when play was stopped.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone


This is a situation where high school rules differ. In a high school game, if a team is in clear possession of the ball when an inadvertent whistle is blown, the team in possession would be given an indirect kick from the spot of the ball at the time of the whistle.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Tyrone ,
I recall a long while back the far AR saw something the CR and near AR missed . The Referee awarded a PK for deliberate handling. The problem was the arm contacting the ball was not the defenders but the attacker who was reaching in around behind him so it fooled the referee and the near AR saw nothing to contradict the CR . The CR LISTENED to the AR & reversed his call of a PK to a DFK out instead. Here in you scenario because the CR has accepted the AR version instead of his own he has decided NOT to award a foul but since he blew the whistle & stopped play the correct restart is a drop ball. I suspect that both teams would challenge as opposed to say one or the other would agree to allow the other to have it. Although High school SAYS who had possession should have an INDFK it seems rather unfair to give a non foul into a sort of fouls saying the attackers had the ball inside the PA? I would accept that it is more important to get the call right then pretend you first call was correct but best to sell & have the AR support your calls through eye contact and communication then to guess wrong!.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 32981
Read other Q & A regarding Character, Attitude and Control

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>