Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33118

Law 3 - The Players 3/5/2019

RE: Community Adult

Richard Baker of Old Toongabbie, NSW Australia asks...

The referee stops play because a substitute has entered the field of play without the referee's permission. How should the match be restarted under the latest LOTG 2018/2019?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Richard
The advice is that play should only be stopped for interference. If there is no interference with play then play should continue until the next stoppage and the substistute is cautioned and removed from the field of play.
If the game is stopped for interference with play then the restart is a direct free kick from where the interference took place and if that interference is inside the penalty area the restart is a penalty kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Richard, the referee should not necessarily stop play if it is advantageous to the opposition to continue.. Should the referee stop play for the interference it is a DFK from where this action occurred not necessarily where the ball is. If inside the defenders own PA then it would be a PK.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Richard,
My colleagues have already given the correct answer to your question but in case you want the actual wording given in the law, it is as follows:

''If a team official, substitute, substituted or sent off player or outside agent enters the field of play the referee must:

only stop play if there is interference with play

have the person removed when play stops

take appropriate disciplinary action

If play is stopped and the interference was by:

a team official, substitute, substituted or sent off player, play restarts with a direct free kick or penalty kick''

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33118
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.