Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33159

Law 3 - The Players 3/18/2019

RE: Travel/select Under 14

jeremy brogan of Cincinnati, OH United States asks...

Our goalie was given a red card. The coach pulled out center back to play keeper and then subbed a new center . This left is with still 11 players. The opposing team then kicked a ball out of play. On our next possesion one of our players, not the new sub, dribbled down a scored a goal. During the reset for kickoff the parents realized we had to many players. After 5 minutes or so they carded our player and revoked the goal. During halftime I heard the refs talking and they weren't sure of the rule and admitted they didnt know if the goal should have counted. They were on their phones googling the answer but they never did say. Should the goal have counted? Thanks!!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jeremy
The answer is no. A goal cannot be awarded to a team that has an *extra* player on the field of play. So in this case the goal must be disallowed, the extra player cautioned and removed from the field of play. The restart is a DFK ifrom the location of the extra player.
Now had play restarted through a kick off without the *extra* player situation being identified the goal must stand. The matter then gets reported to the competition organisers who will make a ruling on it not the referee.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Jeremy ,
if the CR is aware that the team scoring had had an extra player on the field at the time of the goal and has NOT restarted play then the goal is voided the extra player cautioned and removed from the FOP before the dfk restart from the location of the extra player.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Jeremy,
Even though they apparently weren't sure of it, the match officials got this right. The goal should not have counted so they were correct to rule it out.

The law on this states as follows:

''If, after a goal is scored, the referee realises, before play restarts, an extra person was on the field of play when the goal was scored:
the referee must disallow the goal if the extra person was:
a player, substitute, substituted player, sent off player or team official of the team that scored the goal;
In all cases, the referee must have the extra person removed from the field of play.''

If the referee decides that the extra player entered the field without permission, the player is cautioned.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33159
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33171

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.