Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33213

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 4/4/2019

RE: rec Adult

david rees of Swansea, United Kingdom asks...

If the ball goes out for a corner dead centre of the goal, how does the referee decide which side it is taken from

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI David ,
pick the easiest corner to navigate a restart from.
For me the quickest ball replacement ii there were additional balls or the direction the ball took to be returned to the nearest corner once it left. Chances are it will be slightly nearer to one corner than the other, but it really matters little unless huge crosswind .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi David
The referee chooses one side based on his opinion. If unsure it can be best to pick the side where the ball ends up as the kicker will probably go to that side to retrieve the ball and then go to the closer corner arc.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi David,
In this situation, the referee just has to make a decision to the best of their ability. I have to say, in all the games I have refereed I do not recall ever having a problem deciding which side a corner should be taken. The ball always goes over the bar to one side or the other of the centre (in my judgement) and that is the side I give it.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33213
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>