Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33238

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 4/13/2019

RE: Competitive Adult

shaun of Melbourne , NSW Australia asks...

Law 14. Procedure for the penalty kick:
The ball must be stationary on the penalty mark.
My question is that can ball be in any place on the penalty mark or has to be exactly in the center?
Thank you

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Shaun
If any part of the ball is touching any part of the penslty mark or the plane of the mark that is acceptable.
Many penalty marks can be worn with perhaps a depression and the player may wish to place the ball on the side of the mark. That is in order provided the ball is touching part of the mark. It does not have to be exactly in the center.
It is a good idea as part of the order match pitch inspection to view the marks to ebsure they are properly marked and to see if any repairs can be sorted before kick off.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Shaun,
There is nothing in the law saying the ball has to be exactly in the centre of whatever mark is used to indicate the place a penalty must be taken from. As with many other things, it is up to the referee to decide if the procedure is being properly followed and I would have to say that I have seen on several occasions where a referee has requested the penalty kicker to move the ball slightly because it was (in the opinion of the referee) too far from the optimal position.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33238
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - The Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>