Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33459

Law 13 - Free Kicks 6/20/2019

RE: Amateur competitive High School

Juan Hartnack of West Haven, CT USA asks...

On a free kick, the ball is passed back to the keeper, who misplays it and the ball caroms off the keeper's foot and into goal, what is the proper restart?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Juan
The restart is a kick off as a legal goal has been scored.
Had the ball entered the goal directly from the free kick with no second touch the restart would be a corner kick.
Here is a goal from a throw in.
Had the goalkeeper not touched the ball from the throw it would have been a corner kick restart.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Juan,
based on your description, assuming the referee had allowed play to be restarted, it is legal goal and you restart with a kick off. You can not score directly on yourself. You can score indirectly which includes an accidental touch as a 2nd touch.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Juan,
You say the ball was 'passed back' to the goalkeeper so I assume you mean it was kicked by a team mate. And while a goal cannot be scored directly into a team's goal from their own free kick, if the keeper touches the ball on the way in, it has not been kicked directly into the goal, so this would be a legal goal and play would restart with a kick off.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33459
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>