Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 33473

Law 13 - Free Kicks 6/22/2019

RE: College

Kailyn of Winnipeg, Canada asks...

If there is a free kick against the forward in the penalty box, does the goalie get to take the kick anywhere in the box? Or does it have to be where the foul was?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

HI Kailyn,
there is the 18 yard PENALTY area and within the this 18 yard PA there is a 6 yard GOAL area.
If the attacking team fouled a defender inside the PA that foul occurs from the location as a free kick out UNLESS that foul occurred withing the 6 yard goal area in which case that outgoing free kick can occur ANYWHERE inside that 6 yard goal area.

You might want to reread the LOTG as much has changed on this aspect as the ball NO LONGER has to leave the PA to be in play on outgoing free kicks. That is a HUGE change!

A completely different scenario applies if the attackers are fouled by the defenders inside the defender's PA . Any DFKs of course a PK, but if it is an INDFK offence no INDFK can occur closer than 6 yards to the goal itself so an indfk inside the 6 yard goal area is always taken straight back to the goal area line parallel to the goal line itself.

Another strange fact is in cases where the distance to goal is less than 10 yards the defenders can ONLY stand on the goal line itself under the crossbar between the posts otherwise they must be 10 yards away in any other direction.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kailyn
Free kicks are taken from where the offence occurs with three exceptions.
A direct free kick offence anywhere inside the penalty to the attacking team results in a penalty kick.
An indirect free kick offence inside the goal area to the attacking team is moved to a point perpendicular to the foul on the 6 yard line.
A free kick offence to the defending team inside the goal area can be taken anywhere inside the goal area including the 6 yard line.
So in your example the free kick can be taken by the goalkeeper anywhere inside the goal area if the offence took place there. If the offence is outside the goal area the kick is taken from the location of the offence.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Kailyn,
It depends where exactly in the penalty area, the offence takes place. If it's inside the penalty area but outside the goal area (6-yard area) the kick is taken from where the offence occurred. If it's inside the goal area, the law says:

''free kicks to the defending team in their goal area may be taken from anywhere in that area''

As my colleagues have pointed out, you should be aware that, in a change to the law to the law that had been in force since 1937, the ball no longer has to leave the penalty area on a defensive free kick, to be in play. On such kicks (and on goal kicks) the ball ''is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves.''

Incidentally, when a foul by an attacker occurs inside their opponent's penalty area, the resulting free kick can be taken by any member of the defending team, it doesn't necessarily have to be taken by the goalkeeper.

Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33473
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>